History of De Pere Tennis

Tennis began at De Pere high school with the girls’ first season in the fall of 1980 and the boys’ team in 1981. Almost immediately both teams experienced success by qualifying players for the WIAA state tennis tournament. Since then, more than 60 girls and 54 boys have qualified and played in this prestigious high school state tournament.

De Pere tennis teams originally played teams from the Bay and Fox River conferences as well as traditional tennis powerhouses like Neenah, Abbott Pennings and St. Joseph Academy. We now play strong teams like Waukesha, Find du lac and Whitefish Bay. Teams are allowed 14 total team matches although 6 can be multi-team events.

The team format was changed to 4 singles players and 3 doubles teams (10 players) and individuals as well as teams can now qualify for the state tournament. De Pere is part of the Fox River Valley Classic Conference (F.R.C.C.) with Green Bay Preble, 

Manitowoc, Sheboygan North, Sheboygan South and De Pere in the eastern division. Green Bay Southwest, Pulaski, Ashwaubenon, Notre Dame Academy and Bayport are all in the western division. Season long dual match results determines the FRCC champion.

Currently both the girls’ and boys’ teams operate under the “No Cut” principle and consistently have teams of 40-50 players on each team. With so many student/athletes participating De Pere normally has a varsity and 2 JV teams (Red and Blue)